Monterey-Salinas Transit (MST)

Monterey-Salinas Transit serves a 295 square-mile area which stretches from Santa Cruz and Santa Clara Counties to the north and San Luis Obispo County to the south. MST’s 62 routes serve an estimated 437,900 population with 4.6 million riders annually.

Monterey-Salinas Transit District was created by state law AB644 and formed July 1, 2010. The district succeeds Monterey-Salinas Transit Joint Powers Agency formed in 1981 when the City of Salinas joined the Monterey Peninsula Transit Joint Powers Agency which was formed in 1972.