Monterey Bay Air Resources District

The air district was created by the Monterey County Board of Supervisors in 1965. In 1968 Santa Cruz County joined Monterey County to form a unified district. In 1969 the state designated the counties of Monterey, San Benito, and Santa Cruz as the North Central Coast Air Basin. On July 1, 1974 the Monterey and Santa Cruz County Unified Air Pollution Control District merged with the San Benito County Air Pollution Control District to form the Monterey Bay Air Resources District. The District is governed by a Board of Directors appointed from the elected governing bodies of our member jurisdictions. The Board of Directors appoints citizens to the District's Advisory Committee as well as to the Hearing Board.

As required by the California Clean Air Act and Amendments (HSC Section 40910 et seq.) and the Federal Clean Air Act and Amendments (42 U.S.C. Section 7401 et seq.) the District is responsible for air monitoring, permitting, enforcement, long-range air quality planning, regulatory development, education and public information activities related to air pollution. California Health and Safety Code Sections 39002, et seq. and 40000, et seq. require local districts to be the primary enforcement mechanism for air pollution control. Districts must have rules and regulations for the implementation and enforcement for the attainment and maintenance of federal and state ambient air standards.

For more information please contact the Monterey Bay Air Resources District at
(831) 647-9411 or